Dani Alves arrested in Catalonia

By Wandile Msibi

Brazilian Right-back Dani Alves has been arrested in Catalonia last week Friday in suspicions of sexual assault, reports suggest that the alleged victim claims that Alves assaulted her at Sutton nightclub in Barcelona. Thus leading to an investigation by the local police.

Alves is currently the player with the most trophies won, he has 43 trophies to his name

These shocking allegations have shook the footballing industry with some people including former teammate and current FC Barcelona coach Xavi Hernandez commenting on this issue. Xavi said “it’s difficult to comment on a situation like this. I am surprised and shocked. I am in a state of shock. Justice will rule whatever it is, we can’t go in. I feel very bad for him.” However just 24 hours later he went on to apologize and clarified that he is not supporting anyone after receiving criticism from people stating that he is supporting Alves. He went on to say after the game vs. Getafe, “I am surprised that Dani could have done any of these things. I understand the critism and I apologize.”

Another person who spoke about against these allegations is Dani Alves’s former spouse, Dinorah Santana. She said:”I’m still in shock. It seems like a nightmare and it’s not happening.” She further defended him by saying, “I say this because I’ve know him for 22 years and was married to him for 10 years. This has been a shock to me and for my children. I have two teenagers who are suffering.” Matters became worse for Dani after he was sacked by the Mexican Club Pumas UNAM after these allegations were made.

Dani Alves with his ex wife Dinorah Santana

His wife Joana Sanz recently went to social media to ask for privacy by stating, “I ask the media outside my house to please respect my privacy at this time, my mother passed away a week ago. I have barely started to realize that she is no longer here and then they already start to torment me with my husband’s situation. I have lost two pillars of my life. Have a little empathy, Instead of looking for news in other people’s pain, thank you.” Now the question is, are these allegations true or are they just another lie from someone looking for publicity as seen in recent years as Neymar Jr. and Cristiano Ronaldo were falsely accused of the same allegations.

wandylindo500 Avatar

Posted by

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started